Skip to content

Convention on origin

A convention of origin will give all Contracting Parties the same rules of origin.

The Regional Convention on pan-Euro-Mediterranean preferential rules of origin, also known as the PEM Convention, will subsequently replace the origination protocols of each free trade agreement in force between the Contracting Parties.

The following countries and groupings are Contracting Parties to the PEM Convention:

The individual EFTA states (Norway, Iceland, Liechtenstein and Switzerland), EC, Albania, Algergia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Egypt, Faroe Islands, Georgia, Israel, Jordan, Lebanon, Kosovo, Morocco, Moldova, Montenegro, North Macedonia, Serbia, Syria, Tunisia, Turkey, Ukraine and Palestine.

EFTA has free trade agreements with all countries except Algeria, Moldova, Kosovo and Syria.

The PEM Convention has so far been implemented for:

Montenegro - EFTA 

Bosnia and Herzegovina - EFTA 

The EEA 

The EFTA Convention

Georgia -EFTA

EC - Norway

Serbia - EFTA